Stanislaus County Music Educators Association

HomeExec. BoardBandOrchestraChoirJazzPast ReptertoireAudition MusicContactResources

 

SCMEA NEW MUSIC REPERTOIRE WORKSHOP

On Tues. Aug. 4 the Modesto City Schools (MCS) in a collaborative effort with SCMEA will host a New Music Repertoire Workshop for Band, Orchestra & Choir.  The workshop is from 9-12 pm at Gregori HS and while this is an in-service day for MCS music teachers, SCMEA members are more than welcome to participate in this professional development.  The music will range in difficulty from Grades 1-5 and will feature mostly JW Pepper's Editor Choice music for 2015.  The 2015 Editors Choice is all new music for this year, however, there will be a few pieces that are only 3-4 years old that have proven to be good pieces of music.  We hope you can join us on Tues. Aug. 4 at Gregori HS!

 

SCMEA GOOGLE CALENDAR

Added dates to the SCMEA Google Calendar

 

2015-16 SCMEA GENERAL MEETINGS

Back to School Meeting          Fri. Aug. 21, 2015, 4 pm @ Skewers

Post-Festival Meeting             Tues. Feb. 2, 2016, 4 pm @ Skewers

End of Year Meeting/BBQ       Tues. May 17, 2016, 6 pm @ TBD

 

2016 CMEA FESTIVALS

Large group (Choral, Band/Orchestra) and Solo/Ensemble festival registration date has not been announced yet, stay tuned!  However, so that you may plan accordingly, below is the schedule of CMEA festivals. To register for these large group or solo/ensemble festivals please go to SoloChair.com.

 

Solo & Ensemble Festival Sat. March 5, 2016 @ CSU Stanislaus
Choral Festival Fri. & Sat. April 17 & 18, 2015 @ Johansen HS *
Band & Orchestra Festival A Fri & Sat. April 29 & 30, 2016 @ Downey HS
Band & Orchestra Festival B Fri & Sat. May 6 & 7, 2016 @ Downey HS

 

MODESTO AREA BAND/ORCHESTRA FESTIVALS (non-SCMEA/CMEA)

Tues. December 1, 2016 @ Downey HS  (non-rated)

 

2015-16 CONFERENCES

Midwest Band & Orchestra Clinic Wed. Dec. 16 - Sat. Dec. 19, 2015, Chicago, Il
SCMEA Music Festival Fri. Jan. 29 - Sat. Jan. 30, 2016 @ MJC
CASMEC All State Conference Thurs. Feb. 11 - Sun. Feb. 14, 2016 @ San Jose, CA

 

SCMEA CONSTITUTION & BY-LAWS

The SCMEA Constitution & By-Laws are now online and can be downloaded here

 

* = tentative date

 

            ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

 

SCMEA (Stanislaus County Music Educators Association) is the local subsidiary of the larger state level CMEA (California Music Educators Association).  CMEA festivals are adjudicated with ratings, SCMEA festivals are non-rated honor festivals.

 

 

 

Home | SCMEA Board | Band | Orchestra | Choir | Jazz | Past Repertoire | Audition Music | Contact | Resources

Website created by ChavezMedia